Discovering Me: Things I am Thankful For

things I am thankful for

Things I am Thankful For… I really had to think about this. This page was difficult for me, because I had to take a good hard look at my life and pick the things I am truly grateful/thankful for. We are not well off, financially speaking. We are actually below the federal poverty level. Yes, we get government assistance – I am not ashamed of that. Even when we were both working full time, we were below the poverty level and we were struggling just as much, but we had more bills to worry about. We still barely make rent every month – mostly because he takes off work or he gets sent home early because it is really slow; my job barely makes me any money, and my bank account is nearly $200 overdrawn. Right now, I don’t feel like I have a lot to be thankful for.

But, when I sit down and truly think about the things in my life that I do have, the four things listed in my picture stood out to me. First of all, I have my kids – they are a pain in my arse, but they bring a smile to my face every single day. They are, literally, the reason I wake up in the morning and their bright eyes and innocent giggles are the reason I am still breathing today. I wouldn’t want to miss a single day of their lives for anything – I will never let them go again. I am thankful for their existence, for their ability to push me and test me, but also to learn from everything I do and they themselves do.

Secondly, I am thankful for my creativity – without that, I wouldn’t be anything. I would lose everything I am. I am a creator, an artist, that is who my fundamental, essential self is – I know that much.

Third, I am thankful for my friends – I didn’t put family on there because I already mentioned my kids, and my friends have been the best family to me these last 7 years. I am so incredibly thankful for you guys, even those of you who are just my internet friends. When I needed someone, you were there, to listen, provide helpful advice, or to cheer me up.

Finally, I am ever thankful for chocolate. Chocolate is amazing. It is the finest culinary invention of the human race.

Hope you have enjoyed this installment of Discovering Me. It was a joy to create!


Textures: (background)  http://www.deviantart.com/art/Watercolor-Texture2-115128645  (leaves) http://love-kay.deviantart.com/art/Abstract-Watercolor-Texture-435236426
Brushes: http://debh945.deviantart.com/art/Doodle-Frame-Brushes-2-142570511
Leaves: (still trying to find the provider of the leaf brush I used…)

Leave a Reply

