Writing World, Episode 1

What is going on in the Writing World of V.A. Manning?

First of all, yes, that is my name – V.A. Manning is the name I put on my books, just so you know if you see the name floating around on the interwebs, it IS me. Second of all, yes, I have a writing world. A few actually, but only one I am currently working on. I already posted about the Launch Party for Paint it Black, which will be published for Amazon Kindle on 22nd September 2014 – but I didn’t really talk about my current project, still untitled.

The tale takes place in a completely foreign, high fantasy world called Erenon, where Dragons, magic, and many brand new races of humanoid beings live and thrive and do their thing. I have spent DAYS, nay WEEKS, working on the world building aspect of this project, and let me tell you – never again. Once I finish building this world I am never going to build another one. Period. All of my future high fantasy, legendary character tales will take place in the world of Erenon.

So, the first installation of this series of books deals with the MC learning about her role in a crazy war, the beginning of her journey to build a group of like-minded individuals with abnormal talents, and the quest to find a special item. Sounds pretty typical when I put it that way.

I had actually written 6 or 7 chapters into it, but looked back on it – as I so often do – and decided to scrap it. I started over, going in a completely different direction. I haven’t worked on it in about 2 weeks, but I love where it is going – I am a burst writer, I write in bursts… duh. *shakes head*

Alrighty then. That is my current project, without really giving anything away. Don’t worry, I will likely post about how my characters and I aren’t talking to each other, or how I am tired of hearing any number of them whining or bitching. I love my characters, but sometimes they get on my nerves πŸ˜€

8 thoughts on “Writing World, Episode 1

  1. OMG, I remember that headache. I was working on one when I was a teenager. It took me weeks, and countless re-imaginings of kingdoms and races and maps and what-have-you, and it was shaping up to be a masterpiece. I was so proud and certain it would win me an award that I was already imagining book signings and interviews from starstruck fans. You know what happened? My computer shut down.

    And I hadn’t saved it yet.

    I can hear my fifteen-year-old mental scream as clear as if it just happened. Needless to say, I learned that wonderful shortcut Ctrl+S and have been abusing it ever since.

    You think Tolkien said “Fuck it, it’s all gonna be on Middle Earth, let’s make it as complicated as possible. Let’s put in dragons and ents and a completely new LANGUAGE”? The man had the patience of a saint…

    Like

    • Right? He must have been a master at patience. Sheesh, I wish I had the dedication to work on a world for 30+ years before writing the actual novels. Nope, I got these ideas and I NEED TO WRITE THEM. πŸ˜€ Also, this is the first time I have built a world, and this was the first project I wrote a working outline on… I love the fact that I did the outline because now I can go back and be like “Oh yeah, that is what I wanted to put here… But, it would be better here.”

      My previous laptop died, the harddrive crapped out on me, and I lost all of my photography – images I will never get back of my daughter when she was a newborn, my son when he was younger, and some amazing nature shots. But it taught me a lesson… BACK UP.

      I have OneDrive through Microsoft, and I back up my writing about once a week. I gotta get to it with my photography because I haven’t done it yet.

      On a side note, I actually created a language for one of my races, and will be creating a few more – they are just the basics, nothing fancy like Tolkien did – not conversation, just so I know how it works for possible use in the future. The biggest accomplishment in the world building I have done is creating the religion. That killed me. And the races. There are 4 races of humanoid beings, plus the various groupings within each race based on region, Patron deity, what not. πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Outlines *thumbs up*

    I need a sort of system for backing my stuff. I used to do bare bones stuff and some fleshing out with good old pen and paper, so the result is four yellow pads just lying around waiting for me to get back to them. And we’ve moved quite a few times so lugging around a case full of notebooks isn’t so appealing. I may come up with a Goldberg-esque system in the future.

    Sounds like a good world so far. Hope your characters are behaving and cooperative during this process.

    30+ years??? o.0

    Like

    • Yup, he built that world from scratch, and had to work out the linguistics of like 5 languages, some of which he didn’t even use. Crazy man, but it was well worth it!

      They are cooperating thusfar, just waiting for my MC to decide to do something out of character, like fall in love… I think that might happen. πŸ˜€

      I just used a multi level outline and wrote key points down. I already knew what I wanted from the story. Having a map is also good, because you can make the characters journey and base your outline on places, make each chapter a stop on the journey or something like that. πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

