31 Days of Witchcraft: Day 2

How long have you been practicing witchcraft?

That is a good question, but it has a few different parts. First of all, I have been practicing Witchcraft since I was a small child. I was included in rituals and spells where energy needed to be raised, I helped to create many charms and talismans with my mother, and I participated in divination during Sunday afternoon tea at my great grandmothers. I wished upon stars, sending my intentions and hopes out into the Universe.

From that starting point, I started working with candles, herbs, and tools in my teens – I held rituals when I was a foster kid, in my bedroom when everyone else was sleeping. When I was a small child, I made potions out of mud, plant bits, and cat whiskers. I didn’t know what I was doing, but I did it. I have always spoken with the Fae, and have always had a connection with the dead.

Finally, I have been practicing Witchcraft my entire life, however I only consider the last 12 years as truly learning this Path, with an emphasis on the past six years as really practicing.

I have always considered myself a lifelong practitioner of Witchcraft, mostly because I was submerged in it from birth. I explored different faiths, but in my family that is a part of our Path, learning about the other religions of the world.

Leave a Reply

