What’s New, Pussy Cat?

For the last… week… My kids and I have been staying over at Sly’s house. It started with the bombing of our own house, trying to get rid of the pests; they were falling from the ceiling and all over the house, and I just didn’t want to deal with pests on my face. Then it just turned into me not wanting to be alone… I really enjoy her company, even though our three kids fight (I consider HL like a niece, mostly because I consider Sly a sort of surrogate mom here in Arizona). The kids really do act like they are related – D and HL get on really well most of the time, but Alex fights regularly with them. She really is a lot like me, in a lot of ways (poor child!!)

I have not been doing much spiritual work recently – I did put my feelers out there for possible ‘students’ that I might be able to mentor. I received some crazy interest in it, but really only one person stood out as really needing a sounding board, a person to learn from. This is a part of my training, and I felt urged to take this necessary step, even though it is seriously out of my comfort zone and slightly terrifying. I am glad I did, because I know now that it is not just to assist someone who is in the beginning phases of their journey, but also to assist me in deepening my understanding of my own path.

I have been reading a lot of articles, blogs posts, and books recently in regards to my path – no rituals or spells, just a lot of reading! For some time now, and not just recently, I have looked back on my childhood and remember my grandmother wearing the hijab – the head covering that a Muslimah wears – as a religious observance. She has always been very inspired by Islam, and for a long while she was a practicing Muslim. She taught me how to cover my hear, and there were many times that it was required that I at least make an effort to cover my hair because of my Muslim grandfather (her ex husband). When I got older, he allowed me to forego the hijab as long as I wore my hair up. I was fine with this, I love my grandfather and my aunt (who is 2 years younger than me). It also taught me a great respect for Muslimahs, because he did not view the hijab as oppressive, nor did he teach his daughter that it was. It was a modesty thing, just like wearing long sleeves and higher necks. It was about the fact that our hair, as women, is sacred and should only be viewed by those we hold dearest to us. I dunno, something about the way he explained it, and how my grandmother explained it, really made sense when I was younger.

I bring this up because Hekate has urged me to do another thing that is just nearly out of my comfort zone – she has requested that I begin to veil. (waits for the backlash)

I am not sure what the significance of this new act is, nor do I completely understand the concept of veiling or why it should be a part of my spiritual path, but when she suggests I do something, I try to do it (and she so rarely makes a request, I can’t help it). I hope I will figure more out about this as I incorporate it into my daily life.

Sly said I looked silly because I am not a Muslim, and she doesn’t understand why I am trying this. I accept that – the best thing I could say was “because it feels right.” I know that many people may look at me funny, especially in this town – but if they question, all I have to say is that it is personal. šŸ˜€

Samhain is coming up… and so is the New Moon (Dark Moon), which is sacred to Hekate. A solar eclipse is on the menu as well. Seems like this month is just filled with amazing phenomena.

I received the formal court summons for the eviction hearing… I never new it was considered suing… I am scared, but hopeful that I am able to get into the apartment we applied for asap. I am trying my hardest to keep a positive outlook on this whole situation, which at times seems to be nearly impossible. Do I get a gold star for trying?

It is set for 10/30/2014 at 9:45AM. Nine days from now… well, nearly 8… but either way. I know that I will get a formal eviction, and that it will be on my record, and that I now owe like $948 (rent, late fees, electric, court fees and attornies fees for the landlord), and that it will be taken from my paychecks… but it all feels strangely freeing… I was giddy when I was handed the summons by the constable. I still have no idea what I am going to do with my kitten. Sly is allergic to cats, and she has 4 dogs already. Another friend is unable to house Loki because of her own feline companions and the fact that she leaves windows open because they are indoor/outdoor. Toothless will be fine here, as long as I keep him in my heart and make sure he knows that I am not abandoning him.

I just wanted to write an update for anyone who is reading this blog šŸ˜€ I don’t expect many people to read the posts, but it is nice feeling like I am starting to build my place in the blogging community.

Leave a Reply

