The Wisdom of Buddha

I have tried my entire life to find spirituality. I have put on many religions, trying to find the one that best suited my personality and soul type. None of them resonated as well as Witchcraft – though Witchcraft is not a religion, I do not consider what I practice to be Wicca, but a sort of Theistic Witchcraft. I believe in the Divine, and even honor both the Divine Masculine and the Divine Feminine, however my practices do not revolve around honoring and worship Deities. I tend to only work with those that come to me first, whether only once or multiple times – and even then, it is rare for me to work with anyone but Hekate.

I realized at a young age that I could not live without spirituality, without a connection with the Divine. Because of this knowledge, I strove to find it wherever I could. I was led to many different systems, but never felt quite comfortable in any of them – until I would come home and my mother would be reading The Spiral Dance, or burning incense.

“Just as a candle cannot burn without fire, men cannot live without a spiritual life.” This makes me think of the idea that we all have a spark of the Divine in us, and that we are not humans having a spiritual experience, we are spiritual beings having a human experience. Without the flame of Spirit – (without acknowledging, even on some subconscious level) the existence of a Universal energy that flows through us all – we cannot live. I mean, we will be breathing, and walking around, and doing the things we need to do to “survive”, but is that truly living?

No, it’s not.

Leave a Reply

